PDA

View Full Version : dvorak keyboard

sxmaxchine
April 19th, 2010, 11:35 AM
just wanted to know if there is any body who has a dvorak keyboard and if they think i should try one.

also links to shops that sell them (preferably Australian currency) would be appreciated

NovaAesa
April 19th, 2010, 12:37 PM
I have been using the Dvorak layout since mid-2008. I have about 4 keyboards that have the Dvorak layout, all of which were originally qwerty keyboards that I converted. I had to pull the keycaps off and put them back on in the new order. It has worked best so far with the aluminium mac keyboard, however the U, J, F, and H keys are all sideways.

I would suggest using a regular qwerty keyboard to learn on. This is because it is better to learn touchtyping with Dvorak rather than hunt and peck. I would suggest getting a paper cutout of a Dvorak keyboard to sit next to your computer for the first few days while you try to learn, for when you forget keys.

Also, if you are going to learn touch typing, make sure you use the right fingers for the right keys, you will thank yourself later! Habits such as using the wrong fingers are almost impossible to break.

dsavi
April 19th, 2010, 12:55 PM
I thought of converting my qwerty keyboard to Dvorak when I was cleaning it, but I decided against it. Also, learn to type properly, there's no way for me to relearn qwerty but I wish I could as I don't use all my fingers.

cascade9
April 19th, 2010, 12:59 PM
Find a crappy keyboard, rip up and rearrange the keys to the dvorak layout, change the keyboard type to dvorak. Easy. Cheaper than trying to find one as well.

dragos240
April 19th, 2010, 01:42 PM