PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to find Email spoofing?

karthick87
April 18th, 2010, 06:22 PM
Nowadays spammers use fake email addresses to send a mail,it appears to be a real mail..How to identify email spoofing?and how to protect email spoofing?

J V
April 18th, 2010, 06:26 PM
Send a reply and ask if its them... Unfortunately, unless someone signs a message with a PGP key theres no way currently to identify them automatically.

kolinab
April 18th, 2010, 08:38 PM
I disagree with the above advice. Replying to a possibly fradulent or spoofed address might just confirm to the sender that their email reached your eyes . . . I think that means you might get more spam/phishing attempts in the future.

I'm not a security expert. MY basic advice is that I make sure *I'm* the one initiating any contact with my bank, etc. Don't trust links in email, and never enter passwords or login details to anything from a link followed from am email.

I did a little google search and found this basic page on phishing security. It's a decent start.

http://www.focus.com/fyi/it-security/44-ways-protect-phishing/

K

Chronon
April 19th, 2010, 10:22 AM
I think J V forgot the <sarcasm> tags.

lisati
April 19th, 2010, 10:27 AM
Care and wisdom is needed. Spammers often use forged "from" addresses, and you don't want to be tagged as a spammer yourself if you accidentally annoy innocent third parties.

Mykk
April 19th, 2010, 11:44 AM
Send a reply and ask if its them... Unfortunately, unless someone signs a message with a PGP key theres no way currently to identify them automatically.

What ever you do DON'T do this.

Replying to emails that you may think are fake/spoofed is incredibly stupid. Theres only one thing to do and thats DELETE!

Paddy Landau
April 19th, 2010, 12:07 PM
You are correct that spammers and scammers fake their email addresses.

Unfortunately, they often use real email addresses that they've harvested from forums and other websites.