PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Karmic to Lucid: Upgrade or Clean Install ?

RavanH
April 18th, 2010, 02:54 PM
Hi,

In earlier years, everybody seemed to be giving the advice: When upgrading, do a clean install to get the most out of your new Ubuntu version and not screw up your data with a flaky upgrade process.

Is this still true or is the upgrade process so advanced by now that there is not much difference between the two approaches?

I have been using Ubuntu for a few years now and have tuned and tweaked my current Karmic to be just the way I like it. Added lots of new software that I use frequently (like Opera and other stuff that is not in Ubuntu's repos) ... so I 'd prefer to go for an upgrade.

Unless that will not yield the benefits that Lucid promises !

Anxious to move forward to Lucid, any advise on how to do that best, will be appreciated :)

tommcd
April 18th, 2010, 03:27 PM
In earlier years, everybody seemed to be giving the advice: When upgrading, do a clean install to get the most out of your new Ubuntu version and not screw up your data with a flaky upgrade process.
Doing a clean install is the method I prefer. You start with a clean slate; and this is the most fail safe method for upgrading since you old install is wiped clean in the process.
Id you have a separate home partition, then all your data is safe when doing a clean install. If you do not have a separate home partition, then this would be an ideal time to create one.

Is this still true or is the upgrade process so advanced by now that there is not much difference between the two approaches?
Many people do dist-upgrades without problems. Others encounter multiple problems. Personally, I believe that the main reason so many people have problems is because they have installed multiple 3rd party repos into their sources.list. This includes the ppa repos. Trying to carry all these 3rd party repos through a dist-upgrade seems to be a recipe for disaster.