PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Wubi GRUB upgrade disaster - HELP!

Wtwine
April 13th, 2010, 06:33 AM
Hi

I really need some urgent help please.

I run my laptop on dual boot Ubuntu 9.04/Windows XP, with a Wubi installation.

In anticipation of upgrading from 9.04 to 10.04, I upgraded from grub-legacy to grub 2 as suggested on various sites.

Now when I boot, I get "error: file not found" and it enters grub rescue mode. When I type "boot", it says "no loaded kernel".

I can't boot into Ubuntu or Windows. I can access my Windows partition via file manager when running Ubuntu from Live CD

I have tried various solutions from various sites but to no avail (e.g. replacing wubildr with patch, because it is only for 9.10 http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/bootinfoscript/index.php?title=Boot_Problems:Wubi_9.10)

I need this machine for work today, so I am really stuffed! Please help ASAP if you can - much appreciated.

I'm a relative noob, but this may help - output while following instructions on one of the sites (while running Ubuntu from live cd):

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 12132 91717888+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda2 12133 12921 5964840 c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo mount /dev/sda1 /mnt
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo mount --bind /dev /mnt/dev
mount: mount point /mnt/dev does not exist
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo mount --bind /proc /mnt/proc
mount: mount point /mnt/proc does not exist
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo mount --bind /sys /mnt/sys
mount: mount point /mnt/sys does not exist
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo chroot /mnt
chroot: cannot run command `/bin/bash': No such file or directory
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ dpkg-reconfigure grub-pc
/usr/sbin/dpkg-reconfigure must be run as root
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo dpkg-reconfigure grub-pc
Package `grub-pc' is not installed and no info is available.
Use dpkg --info (= dpkg-deb --info) to examine archive files,
and dpkg --contents (= dpkg-deb --contents) to list their contents.
/usr/sbin/dpkg-reconfigure: grub-pc is not installed