PDA

View Full Version : Hello NC

98cwitr
April 12th, 2010, 05:27 PM
Just wanted to pop in and say hello. Just moved to Raleigh a few weeks ago. I have started a career with NCDOT as a senior systems analyst and thoroughly love North Carolina compared to middle Georgia. I've been using Ubuntu specifically for over a year now, and six months clean from Windows...thank God no WUA (Windows Users Anonymous) meetings. I deviled in Fedora Core 5 & 6 back in the day, but really gained Linux footing with Ubuntu 8.04. I would really enjoy getting into linux adminstration and development, but other than going to Amazon and dropping $1000 on reading material, I don't know where to get started. Any pointers? My Regards, Brett.

mark_k
April 22nd, 2010, 01:43 PM
Welcome to the state!

I certainly can't pass myself off as anything like a real systems administrator, so take this with a grain of salt. I'm a software developer, and learned the most about system-admin stuff by setting up what I thought was a pretty reasonably-functional yet simple development-infrastructure server (even though it was just me, mostly).

I threw together a server with just about the cheapest parts I could find, and set up pretty normal bits - apache, subversion, trac, bugzilla, email (outbound through a simple relay, some local mailboxes). Then did java and jboss, hudson, oracle/mysql/postgresql for a dev environment that wasn't my laptop (obviously, I'm pretending to be a java web developer these days). For a while, I did some dns for internal machines, and then poked a hole through my home router so the internal app could be seen from the interwebs.

Just going through that setup, for what I selfishly wanted in a development environment taught me tons.

Eventually I tired of that server, so moved it to a vmware instance of ubuntu-server. That let me rebuild the box with some more hardware, learn about raid (which I still struggle with) and setting up backuppc and vmware-server.