PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] I've Ubuntu 8.04, Is upgrading Ubuntu necessary ?

soona86
April 11th, 2010, 10:20 AM
Hi,
I have Ubuntu 8.04 CD & I want to install it. I'm still learning the basics and I don't want to upgrade the version. You know, the newer the version the more space it takes.

So, My question is :
Is it really necessary to upgrade versions?

coffeecat
April 11th, 2010, 10:34 AM
You know, the newer the version the more space it takes.

Where did you get that idea from? The size of the desktop CD and the amount of hard disc space a default installation takes has been approximately the same since the early days of Ubuntu.

Ubuntu is not Windows.

But to answer your question, version 8.04 will be supported for about another year (if I remember correctly) so it's perfectly OK to learn the basics. But you might want to consider trying the new long-term support version, 10.04, when it is released in a couple of weeks.

new_tolinux
April 11th, 2010, 10:37 AM
That depends on what you're doing.

For learning "just" the basics almost any version could do, and you don't need to upgrade for that.
But keep in mind that when 8.04 reaches EOL (april 2011 for the desktop and april 2013 for the server) it also reaches end-of-support.
So no security fixes, no updates, possibly no support on this forum for that version, etc.

soona86
April 11th, 2010, 10:39 AM
Where did you get that idea from? The size of the desktop CD and the amount of hard disc space a default installation takes has been approximately the same since the early days of Ubuntu.

Ubuntu is not Windows.

Hi,
Sorry I didn't know that about Ubuntu. I thought so because It's just the same thing in most of programs.
I understand I can control the size of the installation & I'm thinking of a full 8GBs (as in my CD) install. So, About my question: Is upgrading necessary? :)

lbu
April 11th, 2010, 10:40 AM