PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Mysql database issue with XAMPP

damnated
April 10th, 2010, 01:19 PM
I'm an absolute beginner in this, so this question may be completely obvious.

I'm not entirely sure where MySql is looking for database files. I have put my database in
/opt/lampp/var/mysql and when I go to http://localhost/phpmyadmin/ I can see my database in the left side panel, however, it's only the name of the database (the name of the folder the files were in) but the database is empty when I access it, the actual files are missing.

The files are inside the folder, and they have no issues what so ever, it works on my sister PC with the same XAMP (she uses Windows though).

Could it be some platform crossing issue, or am I using a wrong place for the files. I'm guessing the later. Please advise!

Ryan Dwyer
April 10th, 2010, 02:39 PM
You shouldn't need to worry about the files themselves. You can make tables inside your database using phpMyAdmin.

Also, I recommend just installing Apache, PHP, MySQL and phpMyAdmin from the repos. If you downloaded XAMP from somewhere and extracted it /opt/ then the update system probably doesn't know it exists. If anything on your system tries to install Apache or MySQL in the future it would run into problems because the ports are already in use.

s_
April 10th, 2010, 02:57 PM
The mysql database files are croos-platform, so that is not the issue.
You can change the directory mysql uses for databases in the config file my.cnf
Look for line simmilar to this.

datadir = /var/lib/mysql

I dont really know where this will be when you install xampp, and I dont really understand why anyone would use xampp on ubuntu. There is a LAMP package, and a phpmyadmin package.
To find the my.cnf file use locate my.cnf in terminal.

damnated
April 10th, 2010, 04:29 PM
You can change the directory mysql uses for databases in the config file my.cnf
Look for line simmilar to this.