PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] Newb w/ Linux: Xubuntu install help

Krimson Rose
April 9th, 2010, 06:58 PM
Hi all. This is my first post here, and i am a newbie when it comes to all things linux. My laptop is a bit old, got it from a friend and it was running xp verrrry slow. I read up on some things with linux and decided that Xubuntu would be good for my specs. Intel processer (not sure which one or how to find that out now - sticker on comp says Celeron M inside), 60g HDD, and something like 358m ram. I have copied the cd (3 times now) to a disc. Third disc seemed to work fine. at least on my hubby's desktop it did. I figured wiping the hard drive and starting fresh would be best, I didn't want to mess with duel boots. I set it up to boot from the disc and i got the loading screen. Yay! thought i was on the right track. I couldn't click on the first option, because I don't have a running OS on the system right now. I click on the second option the screen went black, then a mouse showed up and i got to choose a language. Before I could click forward, it froze. I waited about 10 min. to give it time to 'think' then forced a reboot. Now if I click to Install, the screen goes black with a white bar at the top left and freezes there. I tried to check if disc was okay, it freezes. I saw on another post to do the memory test, so i am doing that now. At least something is happening on screen. Even if the memory test passes, I have no clue what to do from here. Does anyone know what I need to do? And if so can you dumb the talk down for a newbie? Thank you in advance!

Krimson Rose