PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu will not start up after install

bnrauch
April 9th, 2010, 06:38 PM
I am a Linux newbie, I installed version 9.10 32 bit on my new MSi a6200 lap top using wubi.
I installed it with-in windows. After restarting and selecting Ubuntu it shows the message finishing install then the screen gos blank. I can here the hard drive spinning but nothing comes up on the display. Has anyone else experinced this same issue if so what is the fix. Please be detailed as I am fairly new to this.

_BIG_
April 26th, 2010, 10:25 AM
I am a Linux newbie, I installed version 9.10 32 bit on my new MSi a6200 lap top using wubi.
I installed it with-in windows. After restarting and selecting Ubuntu it shows the message finishing install then the screen gos blank. I can here the hard drive spinning but nothing comes up on the display. Has anyone else experinced this same issue if so what is the fix. Please be detailed as I am fairly new to this.

im having the same exact problem with the same model laptop

msi a6200 = msi cr620

but msi doesnt have anything for unbuntu/linux help or drivers that i can tell

i just did this same install on my desktop and worked fine. if you let it sit on the blank screen right after install it finishes the install just like my desktop did BUT you cant see anything on the laptop. it restarts then back to the blank screen where i imagine the login is sitting we just cant see it

edit:

lol for the hell of it i hit enter and put in my password, hit enter again and i heard the load up sound....but still no visual

P4man
April 26th, 2010, 10:27 AM
edit: disregard, seeing you can log in, its nothing with grub.

P4man
April 26th, 2010, 10:29 AM
lol for the hell of it i hit enter and put in my password, hit enter again and i heard the load up sound....but still no visual

Try this: press control alt F1. Do you get a full screen "dos" screen? If so, press control alt F7. Do you get a GUI now ?