PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Blank Desktop after ugrading to Ubuntu 9.10

doublegazing
April 9th, 2010, 12:07 AM
Blank Desktop after ugrading to Ubuntu 9.10

I'm a bit of a novice and a bit lost after I upgraded to ubuntu 9.10 as my desktop is blank (no background picture and no icons - all I see are the upper and lower taskbars and their icons).

My PC is a Sony VAIO with 2GB RAM and a Radeon 9200 PCI Videocard with a 19" widescreen 1440x900 resolution monitor.

I typed the following into the terminal to get the display details and got the information below.

PLEASE would some kind soul tell me if I need to enter new code into the terminal (and what to enter) or whatever to resolve matters.

Much appreciated.

Into the terminal I typed:
sudo lshw -class display

And got:
description: VGA compatible controller
product: RV280 [Radeon 9200]
vendor: ATI Technologies Inc
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:01:00.0
version: 01
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz
capabilities: agp agp-3.0 pm bus_master cap_list
configuration: latency=64 mingnt=8
resources: memory:e0000000-efffffff(prefetchable) ioport:9800(size=256) memory:fe8f0000-fe8fffff memory:fe8c0000-fe8dffff(prefetchable)

emanuel.b
April 9th, 2010, 01:49 AM
Hi!

To tell you the truth, you have me a little confused. Have you tried to right click on the desktop, to create a folder, or change the desktop background?

Greg Xix
April 9th, 2010, 02:01 AM
Go to Start > Accessories > Terminal

At the prompt type: gconf-editor

user@user-desktop:~$ gconf-editor

Then expand Apps, expand Nautilus, then open Desktop

In there you should see checkboxes for your traditional icons, like Computer, Home and Trash

The Gconf-Editor is the rough equivalent of Windows Registry. So be careful when using it!!

doublegazing
April 9th, 2010, 10:09 AM
Hi!

To tell you the truth, you have me a little confused. Have you tried to right click on the desktop, to create a folder, or change the desktop background?
Hi,