PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu_studio] Installation basic and Ubuntu Studio add-ons

w_tanoto
April 6th, 2010, 06:31 AM
Hi. I am new to ubuntu. Plan to install ubuntu (version 9.10) with Windows 7 side by side. How do I get the add-on to make it ubuntu studio, and how do I install it? The feature it has seems too good to be true, so I decided to try it. I haven't installed ubuntu properly yet, so you have to excuse me if I don't understand anything. (I have tested it in a virtual machine, but haven't got that far). My experience with ubuntu was only tweaking the boot menu by looking at some guides. It might be better if you can explain how the installation works in linux (such as: in windows you use exe, etc). I am not sure, but is "jar" the equivalent of "exe" in windows?

many thanks in advance

cchhrriiss121212
April 6th, 2010, 11:07 AM
There is a lot of information to cover here, so I'll explain in brief. Firstly you should know that the LTS version of Ubuntu comes out in a few weeks, which I would recommend installing fresh (as opposed to upgrading from 9.10) when it comes out. I'd also recommend you partition your drive manually with a separate /home folder to make future OS installs easier.

About Studio: Once you have 9.10 installed, open synaptic package manager from the system menu and search for studio, install the meta-package (this is a package that contains a new kernel and programs) and the OS will be upgraded. What is the feature you find too good to be true?

There is not a direct equivalent of .exe in Ubuntu, but .deb is similar. You won't be installing anything by downloading from websites, but from synaptic, a gui program which handles the installing and shows you the latest versions of software. It does this by looking through online repositories which you can add to and remove.

w_tanoto
April 6th, 2010, 11:31 AM