PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Install Ubuntu Server From USB

ThexDarksider
April 4th, 2010, 11:48 PM
First of all, this may have been posted somewhere else already, but I didn't find anything like this after any searching I've done, so please excuse me if this isn't of any help to anyone. Now, for the post.

I've found an easy way how to do this. After many hours of trying and failing, I finally figured out what to do and how to make this work (even though I'm not an expert myself :D). But I've seen many people struggling with installing Ubuntu Server (any version) from USB. So here is the whole solution.

DISCLAIMER: I am not responsible for any data loss you may encounter due to misuse of these instructions, your computer's configuration, ISO file contents, faulty software, environmental disasters, etc. Keep in mind that this will format your USB drive, so please back it up if you have important data on it. And, most importantly, don't do this if you don't know what you're doing!

Note to mods/admins: if this topic is in the wrong section, please move it to the right one.

Assuming that /dev/sdb1 is the partition on your USB drive (make sure it's not your HDD!!) that contains the installation files, and that you have a CD image named ubuntu-9.10-server-i386.iso (although this should work for other versions as well) in your home folder, you first need to install it to the USB drive, so you can run the setup from there (I REPEAT: BE CAREFUL WITH mkfs, DON'T FORMAT YOUR HDD!!):

# mkfs.vfat /dev/sdb1
# mkdir /mnt/usb/
# mount /dev/sdb1 /mnt/usb/
# cd /mnt/usb/
# 7z x ~/ubuntu-9.10-server-i386.iso -x![BOOT]
# mv isolinux/ syslinux/
# cd syslinux/
# mv isolinux.cfg syslinux.cfg
# cd /
# umount /mnt/usb/