PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Re-Install of 9.10 Stops with Blinking Screen

JKLandes
April 3rd, 2010, 08:47 PM
Newbie alert - Newbie alert.... Ok, perhaps not a complete newbie (managed VMS and Windows for ~25 years), but the last time I used Unix was in the early 80's when the PC-XT was first released...

I have a new PC with NVIDIA 9600 card. It's running Vista Business (ugh!). The 500GB hard disk has Vista in one 250GB partition. I unstalled Ubunto 9.10 Desktop, having it take the rest of the hard drive as it's own partition, allowing it to set up the multi-boot GRUB and it was running fine until an auto-update changed my kernel.

From the threads I see that the NVIDIA drivers aren't updated properly during the update. The result was, when booting, Ubuntu complains it could not find certain files, etc, and the X-server wouldn't load.

I hadn't done much with Ubunto yet, still learning, so after unsuccessfully trying to fix it I decided I'd just re-install the original 9.10 on top of what I had. I booted from the install CD and selected Install. From there it got just beyond setting the time, when it's examining the hard disk, and it stops and the terminal screen just blinks. In fact, I noticed it blinks in a morse-code kinda way, blinking 7 times and then pausing and repeating, in case that's significant.

Ok, looks like I'm really hosed, so I look up how to remove Ubunto and find a posting that had me create a nifty bootable CD (BootIt from Terabyte), delete the extended partition where Ubuntu was loaded and update the MBR so it boots straight into Vista. It worked great: a power-up boot goes right to Vista - no GRUB.

http://www.terabyteunlinkted.com/bootit-next-generation.htm

Ok, so now I try to re-install Ubunto 9.10 32-Bit Desktop again from my bootable CD, select Install and I get to the same darn place, examining the hard drives, and I get the same problem I described above - it just stops and the terminal session just blinks.