PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Win 7/Ubuntu 9.1 Dual Boot

spike53
April 3rd, 2010, 01:38 AM
Hey,
Now what I have a spare drive, I've decided to take a dip into Linux. I tried installing it, it works, on its own though. However, I can't figure out how to get it to dual boot. I have 2 drives (not partitions but physical drives), one is dedicated Windows 7, the other one is dedicated for Ubuntu. 7 is my primary and is the only one that works from the boot menu I created. I used Easy BCD to create the MBR. When I use any other bootmanager other than GRUB, I get a message saying that Ubuntu can't boot from its hard drive. When I use GRUB, it comes up with some DOS looking GUI which I don't know what to do with. I'm a Linux beginner so I don't know many codes.
I want to know what I need to do in order to get my 7 and Ubuntu discs to cooperate together so I can successfully make a dual boot.
Thanks for the help,
Spike

Arand
April 3rd, 2010, 02:33 AM
What I would do is (re-)install GRUB to the mbr of the Ubuntu disk, and then setup EasyBCD to chainload GRUB from that disk.

Reinstalling GRUB via a liveCD should take care of getting past the GRUB rescue screen (which is due to grub not being able to load the GRUB configuration file):

Boot a liveCD
Start a terminal from [menu]Applications>Accessories>Terminal
Find out what partition is the Ubuntu root:
sudo fdisk -lThe Ubuntu root should be the one designated Linux (not Linux swap) e.g.
/dev/sdb1 * 1 15504256 488384032+ 83 LinuxI will thus use sdb1 for the Ubuntu root, if yours is ootherwise, change all following commands accordingly.
If you have a separate /boot partition these instruction does NOT apply (it needs to be mounted to /mnt/boot in addition)
Mount current ubuntu root partition :
sudo mount /dev/sdb1 /mnt Reinstall GRUB:
sudo grub-install --root-directory=/mnt /dev/sdb

Now GRUB should be setup to load if the mbr of the second harddisk is initiated.