PDA

View Full Version : What software do you build yourself? (e.g. svn instead of ubuntu package)

bryce123
April 2nd, 2010, 09:03 PM
Hi guys,

I was wondering, if you build software from source on ubuntu, and if yes why?

I always build my own mplayer svn version since i often times benefit from new/left out features, that are not provided by the package. I also build irssi, because i like to help testing.

The rest of the software I use on a daily basis is either a pain to build yourself (firefox) or there are quite recent versions (fluxbox) / extra repositories.

diesch
April 2nd, 2010, 09:23 PM
I've compiled Emacs myself as I didn't like all the customizations Ubuntu makes there by default. And as I'm a Python programmer I need to install some Python modules that aren't in the repositories every now and then.

lovinglinux
April 2nd, 2010, 09:48 PM
Firefox to improve performance, but I stopped compiling it since I upgraded my CPU from a P4 to a Core 2 Duo.

Irihapeti
April 2nd, 2010, 09:51 PM
I've compiled some multimedia packages because I wanted codecs not included in the Ubuntu versions, or because the version in the repositories was too old/buggy.

sandyd
April 2nd, 2010, 10:03 PM
kde. I compile it for bug patching reasons. I also compile other apps for bug patching / testing.

bluelamp999
April 2nd, 2010, 10:14 PM
Firefox to improve performance, but I stopped compiling it since I upgraded my CPU from a P4 to a Core 2 Duo.

For those of us on less than current processors I highly recommend compiling Firefox.

I've used LovingLinux's most excellent instructions - http://lovinglinux.megabyet.net/?page_id=220#Compiling-Firefox-1 - to compile Firefox 3 times now (currently rocking 3.6.3!)

It's definitely a very positive upgrade and puts Firefox on an equal footing with Chrome speed wise (at least on a Pentium M 2GHz.)

Edit: I also compile Transmission to always have the latest version.

donkyhotay
April 2nd, 2010, 10:20 PM