PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing Karmic on a Windows 7 laptop

jfl
April 2nd, 2010, 07:48 PM
I am getting a laptop Lenovo G530 with ******* 7 installed.
Since I am not the sole user of the machine, W7 has to stay.
I want to install Karmic on the laptop with dual boot, what is the proper procedure ?
I understand I could screw up very easily ;)
I did install Dapper (a long time ago) on a Win2000, not easily, but not traumatic either, and the setup has taken all the upgrades to Karmic without bothering Win2000. Problem is, I cannot remember, even remotely, what I did, and anyways,it probably doesn't apply to W7.

I am sure there are threads that would answer the question, but I am not good with the search utility on this forum.

In short, I need a how-to install Karmic on a Windows 7 laptop

Thanks !!!

NightwishFan
April 2nd, 2010, 07:58 PM
Simple!

Defragment and check the drives for errors.
Right click on 'My Computer' and hit manage. Go to the Windows Disk Utility (Partitioner thing). Shrink Windows enough to give free space for Ubuntu at the end. Windows needs to be first. 20+ GB should be good.
Download and burn an Ubuntu CD, check it for errors before you install. Run the live session see how your hardware works.
If you are satisfied, run the installer and choose to install Ubuntu in the 'free space'. It should partition automatically.
Boot and enjoy.

Bluesan
April 2nd, 2010, 08:29 PM
Adding...

http://ubuntuguide.org/wiki/Ubuntu:Karmic#Dual-Booting_Windows_and_Ubuntu

Mark Phelps
April 2nd, 2010, 08:43 PM
Just be sure to note that both NightwishFan and the linked guide mention using only the Win7 Disk Management utility to shrink the Win7 OS partition.

If that doesn't shrink enough for your satisfaction, do NOT resort to using the Ubuntu installer or GParted to shrink the partition. Doing so runs the risk of corrupting your Win7 OS so it won't boot anymore.