PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] First time boot does not work

dinkarinjosh
April 2nd, 2010, 05:56 PM
Hi,

I am a novice to ubuntu. I installed it yesterday and booted it through usb(after following instructions from the forum itself).My problem is that OS is booting just fine (as I can hear those drums beating) but there is no display. I have read the forums for the same problem , it says to press Alt+Clt+F1 to get the terminal. O tried that too but there is no display whatsoever just the blank screen.

I am using Lenovo notebook and i have installed ubuntu 9.10 and i have a dual boot the other one being win vista. Please help

oldfred
April 2nd, 2010, 07:40 PM
Are you getting any error messages. Is this a wubi install inside Vista or a dual boot with separate partitions?

TheNerdAL
April 2nd, 2010, 07:41 PM
Are you getting any error messages. Is this a wubi install inside Vista or a dual boot with separate partitions?

It's on a usb flash drive.

TheNerdAL
April 2nd, 2010, 07:43 PM
Is the blank screen black or another color? "If you just get a black screen when running from USB, using the setting "Discarded on shutdown, unless you save them elsewhere" in usb-creator might help"

I searched on my favorite site called Google and I found this: http://forum.eeeuser.com/viewtopic.php?pid=658619 That might be helpful.

oldfred
April 2nd, 2010, 07:45 PM
Have you in BIOS set usb as first boot or used f2 or f12 or whatever to choose to boot the usb harddrive? It may have installed grub to the sda internal drive also.

You can run this from the livCd.
Boot Info Script courtesy of forum member meierfra
Page with instructions and download:
http://bootinfoscript.sourceforge.net/
Be sure to highlight and use code tags (# in edit panel) to make it easier to read when you post the results.txt.

dinkarinjosh
April 2nd, 2010, 07:45 PM