PDA

View Full Version : How to give Linux Away

Sharkscott
March 14th, 2006, 06:32 PM
I am an Editor and writer for LXer.com. I posted an article about how I approach people when talking about OSS.

http://lxer.com/module/newswire/view/56092/index.html

Tell me what you think. If you have stories of how you have approached people and gotten through to them, tell them to me.

christhemonkey
March 14th, 2006, 06:40 PM
wow! that would be amazing, if we all just fixed up one pc and gave it to someone without, then that would mean there would be *does quick mental arithmatic* lots more linux and computer users in general!

matthew
March 14th, 2006, 06:43 PM
Nice idea--fits well with "Humanity to others."

aysiu
March 14th, 2006, 06:52 PM
There's a global project called FreeCycle that hooks up people who have free stuff to give away with people who want free stuff:

http://www.freecycle.org/

The Freecycle Network™ is made up of many individual groups across the globe. It's a grassroots and entirely nonprofit movement of people who are giving (& getting) stuff for free in their own towns. If anyone wants to follow Sharkscott's advice, you can offer these "refurbished" computers on FreeCycle and try to hook them up with people in need or non-profit organizations.

LoclynGrey
March 14th, 2006, 07:10 PM
I love it, thats a good way to approach things :)

aarbear26
March 14th, 2006, 07:20 PM