PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Lost and Found applications...

jlubey
April 2nd, 2010, 06:08 AM
Hey guys,
im fairly new to ubuntu, but i think im getting the hang of it. i just have a quick question:

i booted up my kubuntu partition, and for some reason the icons for some of my quick launch applications were missing. i investigated more and apparently 4 applications got moved to the ¨Lost and Found¨ folder in my application Launcher. (Amarok, Opera, Kopete, and Thunderbird). i have no idea why this happened, or what it means. what i would like to know is how to move them back where they belong and get their icons back (im assuming a simple uninstall and re-install would work here, but im not sure what commands to use. sudo apt-get install --reinstall didnt help).

Kubuntu 9.1, fully updated
any help would be greatly appreciated!! Thanks!

irishbreakfast
April 2nd, 2010, 12:50 PM
Files that were saved during failures are put into lost+found. Depending on what happened to your machine lately, I'd be inclined to run an fsck (file system check). Please read the man pages (man fsck) for the switches to use. fsck runs automatically after a certain number of boots, I think it is set to 30 by default.

sudo apt-get remove package
sudo apt-get install package

If, however, it is just missing icons and not the application, there should be a simple method to restore them. But I can't help there as I don't use kubuntu.

jlubey
April 2nd, 2010, 07:38 PM
thanks for your reply!