PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Graphics driver hiccup

goldenEY3
April 1st, 2010, 09:55 PM
Hey all,
I'm brand new to Ubuntu, and am having a small problem. I'm trying to run a graphics card driver instillation, but whenever I run the file, it says that it has to run as a root. How do I run the file as a root?
The graphics card I have is an Nvidia 8800GTM.

Naggobot
April 1st, 2010, 10:06 PM
Hello and welcome to forums.

I personally am not familiar with Nvidia drivers but before installing anything directly I would recommend that you check

System -> Administrations -> Hardware Drivers

If I am not mistaken the system should find the correct driver for you that way with out any hazzle. Generally in Ubuntu you do not need to download files from Internet and install them. All of the stuff is can be found from the synaptic package manager or software center, except proprietary drivers which are installed as described above.

I may be mistaken, if so then the command you are looking for is sudo ie. you need to open terminal and then type sudo +command.

quadproc
April 1st, 2010, 10:15 PM
Hey all,
I'm brand new to Ubuntu, and am having a small problem. I'm trying to run a graphics card driver instillation, but whenever I run the file, it says that it has to run as a root. How do I run the file as a root?
The graphics card I have is an Nvidia 8800GTM.
No problem. Find the full path to the driver install file. Start a terminal (from Applications > Accessories > Terminal if you don't have one on the top bar). In the terminal, type

cd <the_path_to_the_install_file>In the terminal, type

sudo chmod 777 <name_of_install_file>
sudo sh <name_of_install_file>substituting the appropriate names for the strings indicated by <stuff> (don't include the <> characters).

The system will ask you for your password because you are going to modify some system things so type in your normal login password.