PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] upgrade to 10.04

xtracool_protik
March 30th, 2010, 10:03 PM
Hey guys,
I've been using Ubuntu for nearly 2 years now and I'm getting good at it everyday, Now with 10.04 just around the corner soon I'll be upgrading to Lucid from karmic but thats where I've a bit of a issue.
However everytime I upgrade my distribution I need to update my ppa by myself is there a way to update keys and ppa automatically with upgrade? or before/after upgrade?
Last time I tried exporting my package info from synaptic but I simply don't know how does that work coz when I tried importing it on another machine it gave me an error.
Well I can always note down all my repositories and add them after upgrade by myself, but its just pain to do that.
Thanks for help :) I'll be looking forward to this upgrade especially for gnome 3.0 and if compiz is tied with it :D

xtracool_protik
April 1st, 2010, 12:13 PM
bump

khelben1979
April 1st, 2010, 04:33 PM
Well I can always note down all my repositories and add them after upgrade by myself, but its just pain to do that.

Why would it be a pain? Make a backup of the of /etc/apt/sources.list and use the search and replace option from a text editor if you need to do some changes to it.

UCSBGauchosRock
April 1st, 2010, 05:23 PM
Hey guys,
I've been using Ubuntu for nearly 2 years now and I'm getting good at it everyday, Now with 10.04 just around the corner soon I'll be upgrading to Lucid from karmic but thats where I've a bit of a issue.
However everytime I upgrade my distribution I need to update my ppa by myself is there a way to update keys and ppa automatically with upgrade? or before/after upgrade?
Last time I tried exporting my package info from synaptic but I simply don't know how does that work coz when I tried importing it on another machine it gave me an error.
Thanks for help :) I'll be looking forward to this upgrade especially for gnome 3.0 and if compiz is tied with it :D