PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] ubutnu wont detect my screen



Slapino
March 30th, 2010, 11:52 AM
Ubuntu wont detect my screen (mag bf22) correctly..that causes poor resolution (1152*864 max)
my screen is able to at least a 1600*1200 resolution (witch i use in my windows boot )
is there anything i can do in order to fix or increase the resolution ?.. i have already installed the drivers correctly


asus p7p55d
intel core i5 750
nvidia geforce 9500gt
wd640GB black caviar


thanks in advance to all the helpers:wink:

realzippy
March 30th, 2010, 12:02 PM
Install the NVIDIA graphics driver...

..::| Dave89 |::..
March 30th, 2010, 12:06 PM
To do that go to the System menu at the top of the screen, then to Administration and click on Hardware Drivers, It should automatically pick up what drivers are needed.resrtar

Slapino
March 30th, 2010, 12:10 PM
hmm .. i already installed the nvidia drivers
im dealing a harder problem
is there any way i can force ubuntu to increase screen resolution?

realzippy
March 30th, 2010, 12:30 PM
nvidia-settings does not give the choice?

Slapino
March 30th, 2010, 08:42 PM
no...
the same choises as the built in resolution settings

Slapino
March 30th, 2010, 11:19 PM
someone?

realzippy
March 31st, 2010, 10:57 AM
AH,so you used the display-settings from gnome also?Open
nautilus and search for a file "monitors.xml" and delete this file if exists,then reboot.(Or log out/in)...
(file is in /home/yourusername/.config)
Does this change resolution-options in nvidia-settings?
If not you could try to add resolutions by the use of xrandr,but:
In former similar resolution-threads it sometimes happened that the lack of resolutions was due to the VGA cable,there are differences with the EDID pins,so,can you try (a few) different cables first before starting to mess around with xrandr?

realzippy
March 31st, 2010, 11:16 AM
If a different cable does not work,we need the outputs of:


xrandr

and



cvt 1600 1200 60

Slapino
March 31st, 2010, 02:02 PM
AH,so you used the display-settings from gnome also?Open
nautilus and search for a file "monitors.xml" and delete this file if exists,then reboot.(Or log out/in)...
(file is in /home/yourusername/.config)
Does this change resolution-options in nvidia-settings?
If not you could try to add resolutions by the use of xrandr,but:
In former similar resolution-threads it sometimes happened that the lack of resolutions was due to the VGA cable,there are differences with the EDID pins,so,can you try (a few) different cables first before starting to mess around with xrandr?

hmm.. i can try connecting it through a hdmi - dvi cable (one side hdmi witch connects to the screen and the other way around , dvi to the computer
but would it make a difference?


the output of xrandr :


Screen 0: minimum 320 x 240, current 1152 x 864, maximum 1152 x 864
default connected 1152x864+0+0 0mm x 0mm
1024x768 50.0 60.0
800x600 51.0 52.0 53.0
680x384 54.0 55.0
640x480 56.0
512x384 57.0
400x300 58.0
320x240 59.0
1152x864 60.0*

the output of
cvt 1600 1200 60
# 1600x1200 59.87 Hz (CVT 1.92M3) hsync: 74.54 kHz; pclk: 161.00 MHz
Modeline "1600x1200_60.00" 161.00 1600 1712 1880 2160 1200 1203 1207 1245 -hsync +vsync


it may look od because i tried to make a few changes ... im not sure how but it might affected this commands output


take you for your time..

realzippy
April 1st, 2010, 11:48 AM
hmm.. i can try connecting it through a hdmi - dvi cable (one side hdmi witch connects to the screen and the other way around , dvi to the computer
but would it make a difference?

Yes,please try that before going on with xrandr.
I'll be back in a few hours..