PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Unusual request for HighPoint RAID help

d.vanheeckeren
March 30th, 2010, 09:44 AM
Hi there...I DON'T want to install on a raid array. I want to continue using my ubuntu server on it's own hard drive. The server it's in, however, used to be a Windows 2000 Server on it's own drive, and a highpoint 372 raid controller FOR DATA ONLY. Now that I have ubuntu server running, fdisk recognizes both hard drives in fdisk and shows the size correctly, and even shows the partitions, but is unable to mount.

I was told to get the open source driver from highpoint, which I did, and compile it, which I can't. Here is the results of the make command:

http://atheists.dontexist.org:82/error.txt (and yes, I took the trailing slash off the KERNELDIR but it still does the same thing but with one less /.)

I have no clue what I'm doing with compiling, I'm not a programmer. But I have verified that the files it's saying it can't find do in fact exist. Anybody that can help me or point me in the right direction here? Thanks!

jrssystemsnet
March 30th, 2010, 05:37 PM
Highpoint cards work well under FreeBSD, but not so well under Linux. Maybe you could bite the bullet and just buy a cheap replacement controller?

Honestly, it's what I'd do. Flaky "it only works if I hit it with a hammer" hardware is no fun at the best of times, it's CERTAINLY no fun when it's in between you and your filesystems!

d.vanheeckeren
April 12th, 2010, 04:35 AM
Yes, but if you recall, if I buy another controller that uses hardware RAID, I lost the data I have on there now. Otherwise, I'd say yes. And I'll still say yes, but only AFTER I get my data off.

d.vanheeckeren
April 24th, 2010, 03:30 PM
Problem solved, and I didn't even have to compile a driver, because support is natively included in the kernel.

First step, login and switch user to root so you don't have to keep typing the annoying 'sudo'. :)