PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] To update or Not to update?

dudemanbubba
March 29th, 2010, 09:03 PM
I have several file servers in our offices and I am relatively new to Ubuntu / Linux. I get notices that there are updates for the server software from time to time. Is it typical to update everything when available or should I follow "If it ain't broke, don't fix it..." mentality?

I would hate for everything to be working fine and then have an update throw me a curve.

Thanks!

r_s
March 29th, 2010, 09:09 PM
you should go for updates as they include latest kernels, latest security measures and also the latest software, your files would not be affected by updates.

n0dix
March 29th, 2010, 09:21 PM
If you don't have the experience to solved the problems that may be present in the update i recommend you not doing.

dudemanbubba
March 29th, 2010, 10:11 PM
Are there generally problems associated with updates? If so, are they usually documented so I can review prior to me making the update?

n0dix
March 29th, 2010, 10:20 PM
Generally there are few problems with update but depends on you to solved them: look in the forum, in internet, bug reports, etc. You have to be more careful because you maintain a server not a personal computer.

conradin
March 29th, 2010, 10:20 PM
Every OS runs risks when updating.

snowpine
March 29th, 2010, 10:38 PM
Hi Dudeman, first question: Which Ubuntu release are you currently running? Hopefully 8.04 or newer; if you are running 7.10 or older, you DEFINITELY want to upgrade to a newer release, because older releases are no longer supported by Canonical.

Assuming you are running 8.04 (or newer), your release is supported. This means you may install updates if you wish. These updates include only security patches and bug fixes; Ubuntu will never give you a major "jump" to a new kernel or package version within a release (that's accomplished by upgrading to a new release).

This command is the safest in my opinion: