PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 9.10 installs ok, Then Black Screen on Boot

Janiels
March 29th, 2010, 02:08 PM
Complete Linux/Ubuntu noob here:

I did a clean install from Ubuntu 9.10 Live CD, Installation went fine but upon restart it tells me "PRI Master Drive-ATAPI Incompatible PRESS F1"
Upon pressing F1 the screen goes black and nothing more happens. There is no blinking cursor just a blank screen. Live mode from CD works just fine on this machine.

I had XP sp3 on the drive before but I did a complete fresh install using the "Erase and Use Entire Disk" option. I tried re-installing using F4>safe graphics mode and same results.

My Computer is a P3 500 mHz, 2x512 Mb Ram. Intel 440BX AGPset. Asus motherboard. I believe graphics are shared. 15 gig harddrive. Computer is too old to boot from USB.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

dstew
March 29th, 2010, 07:18 PM
Do you get that message "PRI Master Drive-ATAPI Incompatible PRESS F1" before the grub menu comes up, or after you select Ubuntu from the menu? The message sounds like something you might get from your BIOS, and not from Ubuntu. Maybe you need to change a BIOS setting.

Janiels
March 29th, 2010, 07:43 PM
The message comes up before anything Ubuntu related comes up. What is the GRUB menu? I guess it must be hardware related since I have never seen the GRUB menu or had the option to select Unbutu.
I'm confused because it is the same hard drive and BIOS config I had XP on and Windows loaded just fine. It was only after installing Karmic that I ran into problems.

Thanks for the speedy response!

Janiels
March 29th, 2010, 10:35 PM
UPDATE:
I no longer see the "PRI Master Drive-ATAPI Incompatible PRESS F1"
I believe I have the hardware thing figured out.

It now says "Loading GRUB", stands there for a few seconds and goes to the black screen again. No cursor or anything like that, just a blank screen.

I feel I am getting closer but still not there. Please help!

Thanks

dstew