PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] presario v2000 wifi light off

jdsloan
March 29th, 2010, 08:16 AM
Installed UBUNTU 2 days ago, have tried ALL posts to resolve my problems. The WI-FI light above the keyboard is off, I assume the OS does not see WI-FI adapter - Broadcom 4318. I have tried windows driver with this and that. I have typed more gobble-de-goop into the "terminal", and seen more error messages, I am at wits end.
I am a NEWBIE who wants to learn at 50, is there anyone out there that speaks idiot, and can put it all in real simple terms for me.
MANY thanks to anyone with a LOT of patience!!!

chili555
March 29th, 2010, 01:52 PM
I have a fair amount of patience. I'll be glad to help. The fastest and easiest way to find out what's going on under the hood is the terminal. Let's find out if you have a working wireless interface. In a terminal, do:
iwconfigDo you see a wireless interface, wlan0, perhaps? If not, please run and post:
sudo lshw -C networkThat will list the networking hardware on your system and give us some clues as to how to proceed.

If you do have a wireless interface, click the Network Manager icon and see if you can connect. Be sure the wireless switch and Fn keys are toggled appropriately. You can get an idea of the correct position by running:
rfkill listIf the wireless is blocked, manipulate the switches again and run rfkill again. Reach a point where the wireless is neither hard- or soft-blocked.

The wireless LED is usually, but not always an indicator of the health of your wireless.

jdsloan
March 29th, 2010, 03:31 PM
ran iwconfig
wlan0 IEEE 802/11bg ESSID:""
Mode"Managed Frequescy:2.412 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
Tx-Power=0 dBm
Retry long limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality:0 Signal level:0- Noise level:0
Rx Invalid nwid:0 Rx Invalid crypt:0 Rx Invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

rfkill list

0: phy:0 Wireless LAN
Soft blocked: no
Hard blocked: no