PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Mounting a windows shared drive

houldsworth1
March 29th, 2010, 05:07 AM
Apologies if this has been covered elsewhere but I tried to search for it and couldn't find it.

I have Ubuntu installed but running headless (no screen etc.), so I don't have access to any of the GUI. I either use SSH or Webmin to access the system.

The problem is that I'm a newbie and don't know how to mount the shared drives on my windows machines that are on the same network. I need to do this for backup purposes.

Could someone tell me how I discover those shares (using either Webmin or CLI) and then mount them and, ideally, how I discover them and mount them automatically.

Many thanks!

johnson.d
March 29th, 2010, 06:09 AM
A Windows Shared drive can be mounted in Ubuntu using the following command

$ sudo mount -t cifs //<ip-address>/<share-name> /<mount-point> -o user=<user-name>

If you want to make it permanent, you can add the following lines to the /etc/fstab file

//<ip-address>/<share-name> /<mount-point> cifs user=<username>,password=<password> 0 0

houldsworth1
March 29th, 2010, 12:44 PM
Thanks for the reply. A couple of additional questions.

1. The IP addresses of the machines can change as they reboot, so can I use a host name instead?
e.g. sudo mount -t cifs //barrys_laptop/<share-name> /<mount-point> -o user=<user-name>

2. mount point - I believe this is a directory that I create.

3. Since the share names are sometimes a little different, particularly when spaces are involved, how do I get a list of hosts and drives that are available over the network?

Thanks!

Sven6210
March 29th, 2010, 04:07 PM
I have established a connection between a Windows XP and my Ubuntu, but I have a fix IP-connection.

Prepare Windows to share a directory with a LAN connection with fix IP. The user name under which you have made the access possible under Windows XP and the password will also be needed for Samba.

Example for Windows XP shares