PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] New and First Installation

aqualion
March 28th, 2010, 03:40 PM
Installed Ubuntu 9.10 on a two hard drive machine (dual boot WinXP/Ubuntu) using Wubi (Installing Ubuntu from within Windows.) When I boot and select Ubuntu at the boot manager, I am confronted with a command line which I don't want and don't know what to do with. The heading is "GNU GRUB version 1.97~beta4" and the command line is "sh:grub>". I would like to be able to boot into a username/password screen followed by a desktop. I've searched Ubuntu documentation but haven't found an answer as to what to do. Suggestions?

debianmike
March 28th, 2010, 03:47 PM
If I read that right, your grub boot loader can't find your Ubuntu install...i suggest you wubi install it again, though I am no expert on that kind of setup.

You could probably fix it with grub commands if you can wait for a better answer than mine.

Mark Phelps
March 28th, 2010, 06:52 PM
Main suggestion is that since you are running a 2-drive system, you would do much better with each OS on its own drive. You could then disconnect the Windows drive, install Ubuntu to the other drive, reconnect the Ubuntu drive, boot from it, and once in Ubuntu, open a terminal and enter "sudo update-grub". That will create a GRUB menu containing an entry for your MS Window OS such that the next time you boot, you will be able to select either OS.

That's a lot less work than messing around trying to get Wubi to work.

aqualion
March 28th, 2010, 09:41 PM
Main suggestion is that since you are running a 2-drive system, you would do much better with each OS on its own drive. You could then disconnect the Windows drive, install Ubuntu to the other drive, reconnect the Ubuntu drive, boot from it, and once in Ubuntu, open a terminal and enter "sudo update-grub".