PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Server with 1 HD with Ubuntu 2 other with Raid

Bauer17
March 27th, 2010, 01:52 AM
I am new to Ubuntu and trying to figure out how to set up the following:

I have 1 HD that will run Ubuntu server

then 2 hard drives that will run a raid 1 configuration as a file server so we can share files at home.

How would I set this configuration up? I know how to set up the raid drives but what would the mount points be if I have the HD with Ubuntu installed set as / (from my understanding you can only have 1 drive with the mount set as / )

Then how do I access the raid from a command prompt to make sure it is working?, and does it mount automatically?

I hope I explained this well enough. If not please follow up with questions.

Thanks!

GrumbleNZ
March 27th, 2010, 06:21 AM
I have a similar setup but want to use hardware raid. Both volumes show as a raid array in raid bios, I have setup a mount point and tried to configure fstab but the drives don't seem to have 'linked' to the mountpoint, so I suspect they may need to be setup as a logical drive and then point that at the mountpoint although NO idea how to do that!. Running 9.04 ws + server components. Only started this a week ago and getting nowhere. All help appreciated.Thanx

trundlenut
March 27th, 2010, 12:05 PM
Are you using software or hardware raid?
Will you have all the drives installed in the machine before you install Ubuntu?

I have a similar setup (with hardware raid) but I only had the first drive in when I installed Ubuntu and then added the additional drives later which made it a bit more complicated.

Basically I have the additional drives (set up as Raid 5) mounted as /storage.

Bauer17
March 27th, 2010, 08:26 PM
Are you using software or hardware raid?
Will you have all the drives installed in the machine before you install Ubuntu?