PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 9.10 partitioning failure, ext4, ext3, ext2 file systems can't be created.

hexavi42
March 26th, 2010, 10:03 PM
I'm trying to install ubuntu 9.10 on a formerly windows 98 machine, but whatever I do, the partitioning will finish. A "failed to create ext4 in hda, would you like to continue?" message pops up, and then I'm back to the beginning again. I can actually run ubuntu from the cd, it's just the installing that's the problem.

The hard drive I'm trying to install it on is a maxtor 20gb one with master configuration, attached to a 1gb seagate in slave configuration. Installing windows 98 and windows 2000 work perfectly, but for some reason, ubuntu and xubuntu will not finish installing because of that partitioning problem. I'm a complete newbie at this (only started trying to install a linux distro this time around) so if any more information is needed, just ask.

Summary:

Version: Ubuntu and Xubuntu 9.10
Hard Drive: Maxtor 20GB in master configuration
Processor: AMD K6
RAM: 512MB - 64MB (automatically deducted? taken from bios start up screen)
Problem: Will not install from cd because of filing system and partition creation errors.

phillw
March 26th, 2010, 10:11 PM
I'm trying to install ubuntu 9.10 on a formerly windows 98 machine, but whatever I do, the partitioning will finish. A "failed to create ext4 in hda, would you like to continue?" message pops up, and then I'm back to the beginning again. I can actually run ubuntu from the cd, it's just the installing that's the problem.

The hard drive I'm trying to install it on is a maxtor 20gb one with master configuration, attached to a 1gb seagate in slave configuration. Installing windows 98 and windows 2000 work perfectly, but for some reason, ubuntu and xubuntu will not finish installing because of that partitioning problem. I'm a complete newbie at this (only started trying to install a linux distro this time around) so if any more information is needed, just ask.

Summary: