PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Running Ubuntu off Thumbdrive

DanMan_7
March 26th, 2010, 06:17 AM
I would like to make an active copy of Ubuntu on a USB. Making it so I can plug into any computer and have all my files/settings/programs and be able to change those settings and have them saved. I am looking for a completely portable OS that actively remembers and can keep changes dynamically. I'm not a programmer (obviously) but I'm pretty adept at negotiating instructions, Can anyone help?

I would be happy with either Ubuntu 9.10, or the Ubuntu for netbooks, which might be a little faster to boot and run on USB?

Appreciate your help, Thank You Kindly, Dan :)

Fafler
March 26th, 2010, 06:34 AM
Just boot from the installation CD with flash drive connected and choose to partition and install to it. Piece of cake. I think don't it makes any difference if you choose netbook remix or the normal version. Netbook remix is AFAIK just optimized for smaller displays.

If you don't already have the flash drive, i suggest you go out and spend a bit more on one of the faster models. I use a 8 gb Kingston Datatraveler, and it works great but is a bit slow from time to time. Also, if you know how to use the partition manager during the installation, go without swap if you're going to use it on systems with more than, say, 1 gb memory. For various reasons, flash memory is not very suitable for swap.

garvinrick4
March 26th, 2010, 07:21 AM
Just make sure on about page 8 or so of gparted installation you hit advanced and put your
grub on your own device it defaults to sda.
And even then in different machines I have seen them look for grub and put it in place of
the Windows grub4dos and owner of machine will freak.
Better off getting a 8 gig or so flash partition in gparted into 2 seperate 4 gig partitions 1 for a fat32 USB 4 gig persistence which is plenty to make a nice system and the other 4 gig