PDA

View Full Version : ISO and Mythbuntu

kdx7214
March 25th, 2010, 06:39 PM
Okay, absolute beginner here with MythBuntu although I had a successful MythTV setup with 0.21 several years ago.

I have installed 9.04, 9.10, and now the 10.4 beta 1 mythbuntu distro and cannot rip DVDs or play ISO files - which is the main reason for this machine.

I have followed the instructions provided in the faq (i.e. filled in myth's video folder as separate from the storage group, have deleted the storage group, etc.) and still no dice.

Right now I have 10.4 installed and can copy a .iso file into the folder (default install - in storage group) but nothing shows up. Yet I can copy .mp3 and .jpg files into their respective stores and works just fine.

Can someone give me a hint on where to look next? If I had hair I'd be ripping it out by now.

Thanks!
Mike

Oh, one other thing. When I go to rip a DVD it never starts. It always says "Waiting on DVD" and just sits there.

klc5555
March 25th, 2010, 07:20 PM
Oh, one other thing. When I go to rip a DVD it never starts. It always says "Waiting on DVD" and just sits there.

OK, depending on the mythbuntu version of the moment, you need to install all the various proprietary medibuntu codecs for handling dvds, done from the mythbuntu control center (or separately by downloading the .deb packages from http://packages.medibuntu.org/ and installing them using the gdebi installer)

If the codecs are installed, you may need to add particular file extensions (e.g.. ".iso", ".ogg", ".ogv", etc.) to the list of recognized file extensions in the player settings in the frontend setup.