PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installation problems

caddy400ex
March 24th, 2010, 06:25 PM
Hello,

Just to start I am new to Linux and Ubuntu. I have probably spent more hours reading about linux the past 2 weeks than I actually spent doing work <.< . I have a hp pavilion zv6000 running windows xp. I have the HD partitioned with xp on one partition and am using wubi on the other partition. I know I should just do a regular install of Ubuntu on the second partition but I read that it is a really long process to uninstall Ubuntu unless you are using wubi, which is really easy to uninstall through XP. Sorry for the rambling. Ok I did the install on my second partition and everything worked fine. I did some minor customizing through some of the forums on ubuntuforums. After the customizing I realized that Ubuntu is amazingly better than Windows. I rebooted and everything was fine. I then went and did an update and everything still worked good. Rebooted after that and still no problems. I just turned on my computer today and everything was booting up fine until I just got a black screen with the Ubuntu symbol and then I got a straight black screen that said:

Init: udevtrigger main process (448) terminated with status 1
Init: udevtrigger post-stop process (449) terminated with status 1
Init: udevmonitor main process (447) killed by term signal
fsck from util-Linux-ng 2.16 /dev/loop0: clean, 137604/1073152 files, 807615/4286464 blocks
Init: networking main process (481) terminated with status 1

Cany anybody please explain what this means and if there is a solution besides uninstalling Ubuntu and reinstalling it?

Also does anybody knows an easy way to be able to uninstall Ubuntu I would gladly just do an install from a cd iso rather than through wubi. thanks for your help and please remember that I am realllllllllyyyyyyy new to linux and the whole concept behind it.....but I am learning and learning to love it!! lol

caddy400ex
March 24th, 2010, 06:32 PM