PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Updating Ubuntu 9.10 problems

naru2bon
March 23rd, 2010, 03:30 PM
Sorry guys, I'm new to linux, forgive the ignorance, I'm just learning, i need your help, I installed ubuntu 9.10 on my 4gb Sandisk Cruzer flashdrive and updated it via updates interface. It finished all the downloading of updates and i think its about halfway installing the updates, as it shows "replacing openoffice.org" something then the screen went blank, i thought it went to a power saver mode because maybe i'm not touching anything but then i tried pressing my keyboard and it showed a box asking for a password. I tried pressing login without entering anything which gives me authentication failure, then i leave it for another 30mins thinking it might still be applying the changes in the background but nothing happens and the screen is just blank, pressed the keyboard again but this time it only showed the "loading circle" icon so i gave it another 30mins (boy i'm patient) then pressed the keyboard and this time around i'm only seeing the cursor on a black screen and nothing happens... I've no option left after searching on the net for answer so i rebooted.

My question is..
What happened? did it went to sleep mode or an error? and
Whats the default password for it? it did not ask me to create a username and password during installation.

Thanks in advance for the answer guys, appreciate it...

-Not Everything is Learned but to survive Learning is Everything

dstew
March 23rd, 2010, 08:33 PM
What method did you use to create the Ubuntu flashdrive? Provide a link to the site if you can. Maybe you did not leave enough space for the storage of new software. Open Office is pretty big.

naru2bon
March 27th, 2010, 01:18 AM
Sorry for the late reply, I've used pendrivelinux.com's Universal USB Installer and set the persistance to 3gb and the installation went fine without any errors.