PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Upgrading : Not enough Free Disk Space : how to make space?

captain_conrad
March 22nd, 2010, 04:38 PM
Good day

I am still a noob and i am extremely useless with upgrading therefore please help. I followed the upgrade button on the update manager, and it spat me this message:

¨

Not enough free disk space

The upgrade is now aborted. The upgrade needs a total of 2022M free space on disk '/'. Please free at least an additional 673M of disk space on '/'. Empty your trash and remove temporary packages of former installations using 'sudo apt-get clean'.

¨

I tried typing that sudo apt-get clean thing into my terminal and it simply did nothing, it just carries on as it I just hit enter multiple times. Am I doing it wrong somehow?

Here is my situation with my hard drives. I have one hard drive which is split into three partitions:

...............................total.......free... ....available
/..............................17.5Gb......2.1Gb... ....1.3Gb
/TheGoodStuff.........110 Gb......4.8Gb.......4.8Gb
/Windows................14.6Gb......83 Mb.......83Mb

I know the obvious way to clean up disk space is to erase stuff like movies or music or video or pictures etc, by either deleting them or burning them to CD etc. I have already done that, all of my personal things are on the 110GB drive, which I clean up space on regularely.

Its the / drive that I need to clean, and all thats on there is (for lack of understanding of what to call this) ¨ubuntu´s stuff¨.

I have a dual boot with windows vista and ubuntu, and the /windows drive consists of purely microsoft vista and its sesspool of useless data stuff just filling up the hard drive which annoys me endlessly because my AVG will not update itself because of this drive being full, and my iTunes keeps complaining the /windows drive is full, despite all my music being on my 110Gb partition.