PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Where is the gdm.conf in Ubuntu 9.10?

markoid8
March 21st, 2010, 07:20 PM
I have been working on building a VNC server setup where a user can connect, and is shown the GDM greeter and they can log in and out just like a local user. I have gotten the VNC part to work fine, but when I connect, I get the blank grey X screen.

My reasoning for this is because the guides I have looked at ask me to edit the file /etc/gdm/gdm.conf. This file does not exist in my filesystem. I have even done searches for the file, and it does not appear in any other directory. I have tried to create the file but the changes are not applied.

Has the file been removed, replaced, or changed names?
I really need to be able to make the changes that this file allows to be made.

I have been using Ubuntu for 3 years and I rarely need to pose questions to the forums, but this one has me completely stumped.

My system runs Ubuntu server 9.10, a fairly fresh install. [less than 2 weeks old]

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

diesch
March 22nd, 2010, 04:10 PM
Use /etc/gdm/custom.conf

Moozillaaa
May 27th, 2010, 05:46 AM
My 9.10 doesn't have this file.

Help?

Moozillaaa
May 27th, 2010, 05:54 AM
Found it; not what we're looking for...

PhDLinux
May 28th, 2010, 05:01 PM
In Ubuntu 10.04, users who want to override gdm settings have to create a new file named /etc/gdm/custom.conf in the "keyfile" format. Meanwhile, the system default keys and values are in the human-readable file /etc/gdm/gdm.schemas. If you stare long enough at the XML-style stanzas in there, you can figure out the keys and values it sets. The official documentation at
http://library.gnome.org/admin/gdm/stable/configuration.html.en
makes a couple of useful points:
1. The file gdm.schemas is machine-generated, and will be overwritten automatically during upgrades. So editing it is unwise, as the changes may get obliterated without warning.