PDA

View Full Version : C++: OpenGL Clear

Velovix
March 20th, 2010, 07:04 PM
Let me try to explain my dilemma as clearly as I can. For the record, I am using Ubuntu 8.04.4 LTS (Sorry), g++ (obviously), and Eclipse C/C++ IDE, although I've tried it purely through the terminal as well.

I'm a somewhat new C++ programmer, and I've been programming with terminals for a while now. You can do a lot with that, but I've wanted to make my programs graphic.
I decided to use "glut" library along with OpenGL.
Anyway, I found a basic example for creating a simple window using glut and opengl (I added a bunch of #includes to it. Those are all the files I have in /usr/include/GL/):

/* Demo.cpp
* A simple OpenGL program using GLUT. It creates a blank black
* window which can be used as a starting point for OpenGL programming.
* Link in opengl32, glu32, and glut32 libraries and make sure to include
* windows.h if you are compiling with Eclipse in Windows.
* Author: Paul Solt 3-4-07
* Based on examples from the Red book OpenGL Programming Guide
*/
#include <GL/gl.h>
#include <GL/glut.h>
#include <GL/glext.h>
#include <GL/gl_mangle.h>
#include <GL/glu.h>
#include <GL/glx.h>
#include <GL/glx_mangle.h>
#include <GL/glu_mangle.h>
#include <GL/glxext.h>
#include <GL/freeglut.h>
#include <GL/freeglut_ext.h>
#include <GL/freeglut_std.h>

const int WIDTH = 600;
const int HEIGHT = 480;

/* Prototypes */
void init();
void display();

/* Definitions */

/* Initializes the OpenGL state */
void init() {
glClearColor( 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 1.0 ); /* Set the clear color */
}

/* Displays a black clear screen */
void display() {
glClear( GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT ); /* Clear the screen with the clear color */
glutSwapBuffers(); /* Double buffering */
}

/* The main function */
int main( int argc, char *argv[] ) {
/* Glut setup function calls */
glutInit( &argc, argv );
glutInitDisplayMode( GLUT_DOUBLE | GLUT_RGB ); /* Use double buffering and RGB colors */
glutInitWindowPosition( 100, 100 );