PDA

View Full Version : linux is ready

geogur
March 19th, 2010, 06:00 PM
O

Psumi
March 19th, 2010, 06:03 PM
I am sick and tired of post`s stating linux is not ready for the general public ! this morning I downloaded blender witch installed just fine , all i did was point and click . years ago this was not possible , blender is a complex program , my point is linux is ready for all to use and enjoy . I am not a learned user i am self taught and learn as i go (50yrs old) i used a slide rule in school , we did not have calculators for math class . Pc`s came much after i left school to work as a tool and die maker . I have been using linux and only linux since 1997 . I have seen the changes and they have been advancing Linux from a hackers os to something even can use . So for those who think Linux is not ready for the general public you are sadly mistaken . LINUX IS READY

Don't preach, mention.

J_Stanton
March 19th, 2010, 06:06 PM
Don't preach, mention.

recurring in 3, 2, 1,.....

MasterNetra
March 19th, 2010, 06:11 PM
recurring in 3, 2, 1,.....

*Error Data corrupt* :p

cespinal
March 19th, 2010, 06:14 PM
From my personal experience: In my household, all of us are using linux, even friends around are experimenting with it, when two years ago I was the nerdy guy just liked to screw up with his laptop :P

azagaros
March 19th, 2010, 06:16 PM
You assume a lot.. I have been around many OS's for a long time. Linux itself maybe ready but it still has a long way to go.

As for KDE/Gnome/Xwindows they require some of what is in the companies that only support in Windows, the more profitable side.

To me Linux and its distributions need to learn something about how easy windows is to manage hardware. The one trick I find the biggest headache of Linux especially stuff I can readily buy off the shelf. Certain trend in hardware are helping but still haven't embraced the open source world. You know the stuff about intellectual rights.