PDA

View Full Version : Care to help with my Javascript problem?

skymera
March 19th, 2010, 02:38 PM
I'm a JavaScript noob and we're just starting to learn some at college.

I've created a web page which has a feedback form, a series of drop downs and text input boxes.
I've added validation to each of these so if they're blank or left empty, the submit button will not submit, an alert box will show.

If everything is done correct, the submit button will allow the data to be sent.

Now, my problem.
When the submit button is clicked, IF everything is correct, I'd like a separate page to load which just says "thanks" it's called Submit.HTML.

But if something is unanswered, i don't want the Submit.HTML to load.

I've been coding this in Notepad++ though i'm going to continue with gEdit.

Anyone know how to do this?

raffaele181188
March 19th, 2010, 03:40 PM
Form validation always requires server-side validation (it could even be an AJAX transaction but it's uncommon). When you specifcy <form action="serverscript.ext"> you are telling the browser to send every input collected from the user to that URL. Javascript and serverside validation have nothing to do with each other. Javascript validation is just a more skilled way of preliminary controlling what the user typed, but then you NEED to perform that serverside control. So your action is always submit.php (for example, if you user PHP), then in your submit.php you have something like

if (validate($_POST)) {
header("Location: submitok.html"); // or maybe echo (...)
} else {
reoutput_your_form(); // to let the user resend his data
}

roccivic
March 19th, 2010, 04:09 PM
If I turn off JS in my browser (about 10% of internet users do this) I will be able to submit your form empty. You wouldn't fancy this, would you?

You need to learn a server-side scripting language.

skymera
March 19th, 2010, 04:19 PM