PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installation help

killachandra
March 17th, 2010, 08:17 PM
Hi. I am new to ubuntu and really liked it via Wubi. but now i want to install it in a seperate partition.
I have a 500GB hard disk
C:\ = 100 GB Windows 7
D:\ = 300 GB Softwares, files, data
E:\ = 50 GB empty and i want to install ubuntu 9.10 here
F:\ = 15 GB Recovery partion created by dell when shipped

Now i want to install ubuntu in E:\ but when i run the cd and choose a partition i get a 100 gb partition which i suppose is c:\ and the other is 376 or sumthing which i guess is the rest of the drives. why is it not recognizing the partitions and showing them as a whole. wat do i do to install it in e:\.
Please advice.

tom4everitt
March 17th, 2010, 08:28 PM
Linux names the partitions differently:

If they're all on the same hard drive, C: becomes /dev/sda1, D: becomes /dev/sda2 etc.

If say E: is on a different hard drive, that partition will probably become /dev/sdb1.

Ubuntu should recognize all your partitions though, don't go ahead and install before it makes sense (risk is you overwrite your windows, as you mentioned).

Did you choose manual setup?

killachandra
March 17th, 2010, 08:51 PM
Thanks for the info bro. I will try that again. by the way its a single harddrive. Also even if names it differently atleast it should show it as 50Gb but all the other partitions other than c:\ (the one with windows) are showing clubbed as one partion of 376GB. i wonder why that is? and how can i get through from this. any more ideas?

tom4everitt
March 17th, 2010, 09:51 PM
Which file systems are your partitions? NTFS and FAT32 are the most common windows file systems. If you use some other file system that could possibly explain ubuntu not recognizing them (although it sounds unlikely).
What happens if you choose boot from live cd, and then go to: System->Administration->gparted. Does it find your partitions?