PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] No such device error message

tallyho333
March 17th, 2010, 05:44 AM
I have been using my desktop as a dual boot machine for several months now. The primary hard drive with windows on it died, and since we have been using ubunto 9.10 exclusively, I just removed the dead drive, changed the jumpers on the secondary drive to primary and did a clean install on the drive which presumably formats the disk before installing. When I try to boot from the hard drive i get the following message:
ERROR: no such device 2eb48bcb-7bb4-4080-b04d-fc32dec8c252

Any help in diagnosing this would be appreciated.

mikewhatever
March 17th, 2010, 07:33 AM
Can you boot from the live cd, open a Terminal (Applications->Accessories) and post the output of the following commands:

sudo fdisk -l

sudo blkid

Double check that jumper too, and yeah, welcome to the forum.;)

tallyho333
March 17th, 2010, 08:13 PM
I double checked the jumper and it is correct. I tried re-installing the OS and told it to boot from sda1 instead of HD0, but the results were the same except that the UUID number changed.

fdisk -l shows the following 3 partitions:
/dev/sda1 boot=* start=1, end=19271, ID-83 linux
/dev/sda2 start=19272, end=19457, ID=5, Extended
/dev/sda5 start=19272, end=19457, ID=82 linux swap

blkid:
/dev/loop0: type="squashfs"
/dev/sda1: UUID="fd7d9627-6170.... type="ext4" This is the number it is failing on
/dev/sda5: UUID="67918b3c-... type="swap"
/dev/ramzswap0: type="swap"

mikewhatever
March 18th, 2010, 12:35 AM
I strongly suspect you are not booting from the same, /dev/sda, device. Are there more then one now? When the system is reinstalled, Grub gets reinstalled too, and the menu is generated according to the existing UUIDs. In your case, the UUIDs of partitions change as expected, but Grub still sees the same old UUID, which means there is another installation of grub somewhere else.

tallyho333
March 18th, 2010, 01:55 AM