PDA

View Full Version : Was Y2K a real problem?

BadName
March 17th, 2010, 02:37 AM
I have heard a lot of people saying it wasn't really going to cause that much of a problem and then i heard other people saying it didn't end in disaster because measures were taken. Which is true?

KinKiac
March 17th, 2010, 02:48 AM
No one really knows from my understanding what exactly would have happened if measures were not taken. The affected systems, which had only support for 2 digit dates, could have reset to 00 and continued to operate fine, or they could have glitched out and caused all sorts of problems depending on the exact system. I think it would depend on the coding of each piece of software in question. I may be wrong though, Im not a programmer of any kind.

juancarlospaco
March 17th, 2010, 03:55 AM
I remember pc stores selling "Y2K survival Kit", a box with Windows Crapware,
...and people buy it

KiwiNZ
March 17th, 2010, 04:04 AM
The unit I was managing at the time worked for 4 years to ensure that there would be no issues.
There would have been a lot of issues if not for that work.

undecim
March 17th, 2010, 04:08 AM
The 2010 bug was pretty bad, especially in the UK, because almost no one prepared for it. Imagine how bad 2K would have been if it weren't for all the preparation.

swoll1980
March 17th, 2010, 04:15 AM
You would think they would have this whole changing of the decade/century/millenium thing figured out by now.

doorknob60
March 17th, 2010, 04:27 AM
Not as bad as the PS3 leap day bug. The old fat PS3s made it think it was leap year when it wasn't, and it reset the date to something weird (1984 or something, not sure), and you coul;dn't get on PSN, and trophys got screwed up. Lol...

ndefontenay
March 17th, 2010, 04:31 AM
Depending how close your program relies on the date and how important your program is, a lot of things could screw up.