PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Confused about repartitioning drive

jedimattk
March 15th, 2010, 05:53 AM
Although asking this question makes me feel like a total newb, I've been trying to puzzle it out for a while now and have been unable to. Here's what my hard drive in gParted looks like:

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4013/4433881235_bca5439904_b.jpg

I want to create a new partition with that unused space, install a new operating system to said partition, copy all my personal files over to said partition, and then delete my current Linux partition(s?). Please don't tell me that just erasing my hard drive and starting fresh would be easier, because there's no viable way for me to back up my sixty-odd gigs of personal files.

On a different but related topic, does anyone know a good Windows program that allows you to see a Linux-formatted drive?

zvacet
March 15th, 2010, 02:20 PM
Put Ubuntu live CD in drive and then go to the gparted.You need to to this,because you can not resize,delete... mounted partitions (you see the key on the left side).I will do it this way

1.delete swap
2.shrink existing partition to get enough space
3.on that free space install OS of your choice

I don't know any Win program capable of read ext4 so let your new partition be in ext3.This (http://www.fs-driver.org/) is program you are looking for.If my answer is little bit confused just ask again.

cryptotheslow
March 15th, 2010, 02:25 PM
What zvacet said will work fine - although you may find that the LiveCD mounts the swap partition, so you will need to unmount it in gparted before being able to delete it.

drs305
March 15th, 2010, 02:26 PM
Shrinking an Ubuntu system partition requires use of the LiveCD or a SystemRescue or other external partitioning source.

Here is a guide for expanding the size of an Ubuntu / partition. The principals and techniques would also apply to shrinking the partition.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1219270