PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual boot with McAfee endpoint Encryption

orbita
March 14th, 2010, 05:07 AM
Hi, I'm a newbie Linux user.

My work laptop dual boots Vista and Ubuntu 9.10. Recently my company has forced installation of McAfee Enpoint Encryption (EEPC 5) which replaced GRUB2 with its own log on screen. The linux partition is not encrypted since I can access it with the LiveCD.

I don't want to mess up with EEPC mbr so I tried to install GRUB2 on Ubuntu partition boot sector (and to use Vista boot loader to boot Ubuntu) but it didn't work.

$ sudo grub-install /dev/sda5
Could not find device for /dev/sda5

Is there a way to install GRUB2 to a USB drive and somehow point it to boot the installed Ubuntu partition?

It'll be like whenever I want to use Ubuntu, I'd plug in the USB drive and the Linux partition on my hard drive would boot up. I don't like to install Ubuntu directly on the USB for performance reason.

I did read through GRUB2 documentation but couldn't make out much of it, especially the configuration section.

Thanks very much.

Herman
March 14th, 2010, 07:19 AM
How To Make a GRUB2 USB Disk (http://members.iinet.net/%7Eherman546/p20/GRUB2%20Bash%20Commands.html#GRUB_USB) - with an editable grub.cfg

Try the link (above), and see if you can do it.

It doesn't matter if you already have files in the USB, GRUB2 will just install in a new folder beside your existing files and GRUB2 even works in NTFS file systems now so you don't even need to reformat or partition your USB drive. :D

If you have trouble understanding anything in that how-to just let me know and I'll try to explain and I'll improve the how-to for the next person who wants to use it.

orbita
March 14th, 2010, 01:42 PM
Thanks Herman. Your link really helped :)

I'd like to share how I managed to dual boot Vista and Ubuntu with Safeboot (EEPC) installed on the Vista's partitions.

1. Install GRUB2 to the USB drive as described in Herman's post. Let's say USB drive is /dev/sdb