PDA

View Full Version : Its open source, what did you do to make it your own

aviedw
March 13th, 2010, 07:54 PM
Since linux is open source it leaves a lot of room for its users to tweak it to their hearts delight. I for one dont have a strong coding background. So i have decided to study more python or perl before i try to change or improve something. But for the stronger coders in our Ubuntu community, i wanted to ask you all a questions. What is it that you have done to make your version of Ubutnu quite unique?

I'm very basic as of yet lol. I sometimes mix and match icon sets to create my own, but i have not been able to create my own apps. And im a teacher so i figure that there must be a way to improve my ubuntu to suit me as a high school social studies teacher.

Phrea
March 13th, 2010, 07:59 PM
Not a thing, I'm a user, not a tweaker or a hacker.
I just eagerly await new versions of Ubuntu.

sudoer541
March 13th, 2010, 08:07 PM

+1
the only things I tweak are:
Delete bottom panel and replace it with AWN dock (ill give Docky a try as well in lucid)
Change wallpaper
Tweak compiz fusion
I think thats it.
AAAwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww!!! I cant wait for Lucid!!!

subedistra7
March 13th, 2010, 08:11 PM
change the fonts. sans is too big.

hessiess
March 13th, 2010, 08:15 PM
Strip out a lot of useless functionality out of my own version of DWM, before switching to XMonad anyway. I have my whole system set so that it can be controlled completely without a mouse;)

subedistra7
March 13th, 2010, 08:16 PM
I have my whole system set so that it can be controlled completely without a mouse;)

seriously?

_h_
March 13th, 2010, 08:16 PM

This, with some minor desktop environment adjustments.

aviedw
March 13th, 2010, 08:26 PM
Strip out a lot of useless functionality out of my own version of DWM, before switching to XMonad anyway. I have my whole system set so that it can be controlled completely without a mouse;)

:shock: How please explain

What is XMonad?