PDA

View Full Version : Is Python really better than Perl?

superarthur
March 13th, 2010, 02:28 PM
I am not a good programmer. I just learned programming to help my university project. I started with Java, but it didn't go too well. Then I learned Perl, and rewrote everything in Perl. It was wonderful. As a result, I love Perl, and if someone ask me what's the best programming language for a beginner get a task done, I would say Perl.

However, when I search on the internet, everyone says that Python is better. I am yet to see an "unbiased" web page comparing Perl and Python. Why? Is Python really better than Perl?

(I am too busy to finish my final year in university, so I don't have time to look at Python in depth.)

Penguin Guy
March 13th, 2010, 02:35 PM
I've never used Perl, but yes - Python is way better. :p

kleskjr
March 13th, 2010, 02:36 PM
just for the record: python is widely used in the scientific comunities

superarthur
March 13th, 2010, 02:54 PM
just for the record: python is widely used in the scientific comunities

What about BioPerl (http://www.bioperl.org/wiki/Main_Page)?
And Perl saved the human genome project (http://www.bioperl.org/wiki/How_Perl_saved_human_genome).

Bachstelze
March 13th, 2010, 03:22 PM
Apples and oranges...

kleskjr
March 13th, 2010, 03:25 PM
Probably there are some other programs used, but I am talking according to my experience. Python became something like substitute for the commercial MATLAB

km0r3
March 13th, 2010, 03:49 PM
I have learned both Python and Perl, though I started with Perl and later tried Python.
Maybe I have spent about 3 months intensively when I tried Python, but I fell in love Python from the first second on.

I compared my case with similar ones and I can say it depends from case to case. There are guys like me who started with Perl and then tried Python and hated Python and there are the guys who started with Python and then tried Perl and fell in love with it. And then there are [...].