PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 9.10 installation problem

Lijnk
March 12th, 2010, 05:07 AM
Recently, I tried upgrading Ubuntu 9.04 to 9.10 using a Live CD, however every time it stops at 74% for about 10-15 min and returns this error:

[errno 30] read-only file system: '/target/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.31-14-generic'

It said the cause was usually from a bad hard drive, so I used Boot and Nuke to zero-wipe the drive. I also tried switching the partition type to Ext3, however both Live CDs for 9.04 and 9.10 returned an error stating it couldn't be done, so I was stuck with Ext4.

I reinstalled 9.04 and it works as well as before I tried the upgrade. I'm also fairly new to Ubuntu (installed 9.04 sometime in February), so there's still a lot for me to learn.

dusdus
March 12th, 2010, 10:41 AM
When exactly do you get the error message?
If you get the message while booting the LiveCD, it probably has nothing to do with your harddisk, but most likely your LiveCD. Have you checked the CD for errors?

Lijnk
March 13th, 2010, 02:46 AM
I'll try that since there's actually a few things that point to that as well. I'll edit this space with what happened.

The integrity of the disc was good, but I was fairly sure it wasn't, so I downloaded another .iso file and this time, I checked the hash. The first time, there was a read/write error, so I downloaded it again, but used a different mirror. The hash worked, I've burned it to the disc using the slowest speed. Integrity of the disc passed.

Now I'll see if the install works (on a separate partition).

Lijnk
March 13th, 2010, 06:30 AM
Got a different error:

The installer encountered an error copying files to the hard disk:

[Errno 30] Read-only file system