PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] Toolbars will not load.

mindsize
March 11th, 2010, 10:27 PM
Hi, I'm new to Ubuntu and not really sure how to dignose this problem. What is happening is when i start up Xubuntu 9.10 the spinning wheel will not go away and when i open up any windows the header does not load (so i can not move or close that window.) The system was running fine until i started messing with Compiz, so i messed something up. Now i just have to figure out what and how to undo it : ) So i ran all the system updates. No change. Uninstalled anything with the keyword compiz that came up in the package manager. Still no change. Disable and reinstalled my video driver... nothing. When i did run my last set up updates, during a reboot i got a message about starting up in, something like, simple video mode...i forget the exact wording, but the system started up fine and all the windows tool bars worked. The next time i rebooted though things went back to not loading properly.

So i guess my 2 questions are
1. is there any system restore function on Xubuntu and/or
2. how would i go about dignosing what is causing this hangup.

Again i'm sorry for basic understanding of Xubuntu and would appresiate any direction.
Thanks

denham2010
March 12th, 2010, 07:02 AM
Hi,

This is quite a simple thing to fix, but first, a little explanation, just so you understand why this happened.

With Linux, graphical desktops are actually made up of multiple parts. The main ones being the desktop itself and a window manager.

The desktop, in your case Xfce controls the basic operation of your desktop including the theming of your windows (everything inside the frame of a window) and the widgets (buttons, scroll bars etc), mouse theme, desktop theme and colours etc.

The window manager controls the behaviour of windows (re-size, minimise & maximise etc) along with theming the window frames (borders, title bar etc).