PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Desktop is completely black except an orange line going down left side of screen

mystik_spiral
March 10th, 2010, 01:36 AM
Hi there,

I'm a newbie to Ubuntu and I just got my friend to install the OS system (we have dual operation now with Ubuntu and Windows). Anyway, at work, everything worked fine but now that I've taken my computer home, I've tried to start it up and it is not working. The desktop is not appearing. It is completely black except an orange line that is going down the far left side of the screen. I think everything might actually be there, you just cannot see it for whatever reason.

If anyone has an idea what the problem is and how to fix that, that would be great!

thanks,

Jason

mystik_spiral
March 10th, 2010, 01:37 PM
please?

halitech
March 10th, 2010, 01:58 PM
did you use the same monitor at work that you are using at home? might be an issue where if you used different monitors it is trying a resolution that your current monitor can't display properly.

MooPi
March 10th, 2010, 02:02 PM
Just to add . Do you hear the start up music? This would indicate that your desktop is starting but not displayed.

Peter09
March 10th, 2010, 02:12 PM
Try holding the shift key down during boot. This should get you into the Grub menu. From there select the second option down which should read - recovery mode - this will take you to a menu which allows you to reconfigure your display.

mystik_spiral
March 10th, 2010, 02:13 PM
did you use the same monitor at work that you are using at home? might be an issue where if you used different monitors it is trying a resolution that your current monitor can't display properly.