PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Alienware MX17 64bit quad - NIVIDA graphics

reegus
March 9th, 2010, 03:20 PM
Hi all.
I am relatively new to Ubuntu, however since discovering it i have dual systemed it on each of my laptops. i would not consider myself too techy, but i can usually solve most probs with a bit of patience and forum surfing.

My question in this case is to do with my Alienware MX17 64bit sys. It has Win 7 on it and of course Ubuntu. I am having difficulty with the graphics drivers as when i try to enable the downloaded prop drivers, (Nividia 173, and 185 recommended) the system just hangs with a blank screen, leading to me having to do a re-install. It is a blank (as in utterly no display, off), screen, not a displaying 'black' screen.

I would really appreciate a hand here as while the standard graphics are ok, they are a bit squished, and i don't get the cool warpy effect on the windows with enabled drivers.

I got it working with my HP touch screen lappy, and was impressed with how easy the process was, even the TS operation works.

I am guessing that i need a more specific driver?

Thanks in advance,

Reegus.

tommcd
March 9th, 2010, 07:27 PM
Please provide some more details ...

My question in this case is to do with my Alienware MX17 64bit sys.
Which version of Ubuntu did you install?? The current version is 9.10 "Karmic Koala". Did you install that? Or did you install an earlier version (like 8.04 LTS??). And did you install the 64bit version of Ubuntu or the 32bit version??

I am having difficulty with the graphics drivers as when i try to enable the downloaded prop drivers, (Nividia 173, and 185 recommended) the system just hangs with a blank screen, leading to me having to do a re-install.
What Nvidia graphics card do you have in your Alienware system? If you do not know, then open a terminal in Ubuntu (applications > accessories > terminal) and type:

lspci | grep -i vga